The Chaves County Flood Commission was created by the Chaves County Commission in 1971. The Commission was created by combining the Rio Hondo-Roswell (formed in 1947) with the Rio Felix District. The two districts were combined into a single county wide commission.

The legislative authority for the creation of flood commissions was originally enacted in 1921 and is presently codified under 4-10-1 NMSA 1978.

The Flood Commission prepares annual report of activities which is available at the County Assessors Office or the Flood Commission Office at 4203 W. Second St. in Roswell.












Richard T. Smith

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

#1 St. Mary's Place

Suite #180
Roswell, NM 88203

Phone: 623-9722

Fax: 622-2043

6 am to 4:30 pm